2008-2009 Asia Institute Fellowships and Faculty Grants Awarded

Hiroshi Wagatsuma Memorial Fellowships and Asia Institute Graduate Fellowships

Asia Institute Graduate Fellowships

The Asia Institute Graduate Fellowships are awarded to UCLA graduate students whose research focuses on focuses on an Asian topic or incorporates Asia in comparative or regional perspectives or methodologies. The 2008-2009 awards are granted to two advanced graduate students in recognition of their demonstrated achievement and the potential of their research and their promise as scholars.

Azza Basarudin, Department of Women's Studies
In Search of Moral Communities: Engaging Gender Justice and Ethical Citizenry in Malaysia and Egypt

Jyoti Gulati, Department of History
The Politics of Muslim Elites in the Gujarat Sultanate

Hiroshi Wagatsuma Memorial Fellowships

Hiroshi Wagatsuma Memorial Fellowships are awarded to UCLA graduate students working on a dissertation or comparable research project with a substantial cross-cultural or comparative dimension, preferably one concerning Japan or other Asian country and North American comparison. Three UCLA graduate students received $7000 each in 2008-2009.

Kristin Surak, Department of Sociology
Tea Ceremony and the Productions of National Culture

Melissa Willard, Departmnent of Poitical Science
Making Friends out of Foes: The Causes and Consequences of Foreign-Imposed Regime Change

Anoop Sarbahi, Department of Political Science
The Organizational Character of Rebel Movements and the Dynamics of Civil Wars

Hiroshi Wagatsuma Faculty Grant

Grants of up to $5000 are made to UCLA faculty members in support of research, a conference, workshop, or publication in a collaborative research project with a Japanese scholar.

For the 2008-2009 academic year, Professor Shoichi Iwasaki of the Department of Asian Languages and Cultures received a $5000 grant for "The Ikema Project: A Model of Preservation and Cooperation." The Ikema Project  consists of a team of researchers from UCLA, Kyoto, Tokyo, Alberta, and Australia who seek to document and preserve the Ikema language, a dialect of the Ryukyu language family of the Okinawa islands, through anthropological and linguistic methods.

Applications for the 2009-2010 awards will be available online January 30, 2009.

Published: Thursday, September 04, 2008