UCLA International Institute
Asia Institute

Advancing collaborative, interdisciplinary research on Asia worldwide


Central Asia Workshop

The Central Asia Workshop is an interdisciplinary discussion group sponsored by the UCLA Program on Central Asia. The goal of the workshop is to encourage graduate student research on Central Asia by creating a space where students and interested faculty can discuss research, theory and ideas with others who have experience or interest in the region. The workshop is a forum for exploring recent research and classical and contemporary theoretical perspectives that inform work in Central Asia. Past discussion topics have included Tatar language and identity; environmental activism in Central Asia; mental health, religion and healing in Tajikistan and Uzbekistan; imagining modernity; gendered national identity; and the Uighurs of Xinjiang.

Central Asia Workshop 2015–2016

Central Asia Workshop: Fall Planning
Thursday, October 08, 2015
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Bilingualism, Literature and Cultural Policies in Timurid Central Asia

Presented by Marc Toutant
Thursday, October 22, 2015
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

CAW Meeting: Vernacular Conquest? A Persian Patron and his image in the 17th-century Deccan

A presentation by Subah Dayal
Thursday, October 29, 2015
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

CAW Meeting: Finding Iranians of African Descent in English-Language Travel Literature

A presentation by Cal Margulis
Thursday, November 05, 2015
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

CAW Meeting: Indian Sufi Politics across the Indian Ocean

A presentation by Sohaib Baig
Thursday, November 12, 2015
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

CAW Meeting: The Ottoman Consulates of British India and Indian Muslim Associations in the Financial and Religious Economies of the Ottoman Empire, 1849-1913

A presentation by Michael O'Sullivan
Thursday, November 19, 2015
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

CAW Meeting: The Travels of Afghans and Germans

A presentation by Marjan Wardaki
Thursday, December 03, 2015
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Winter Quarter Planning Meeting
Thursday, January 07, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Rethinking the Ottoman Imitation of Persian Poetry

A presentation by Murat Umut Inan
Thursday, January 14, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Reading and Discussion with Prof. Ron Sela
Thursday, January 21, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Urban Immobility and Cyberspace

A presentation by Andrew Grant
Thursday, January 28, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: A reading and discussion with Prof. Alexandre Papas
Thursday, February 04, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: TBD

A presentation by Mia Bennett
Thursday, February 11, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Religious Reform and Sufi Hagiography

A presentation by Mohsin Ali
Thursday, February 18, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Hui Muslims in the Invention of China Constructing One Discourse and Deconstructing the Other

A presentation by Hai Peng
Thursday, February 25, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Playing Race: Representations of Blackness in the Comedies of Yaʿqūb Ṣannūʿa

A presentation by Cal Margulis
Thursday, March 03, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Spring Quarter Planning
Thursday, March 31, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Conference Planning
Thursday, April 07, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Representing the Land of the “Internal Other"

A presentation by Selim Hai Peng
Thursday, April 14, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: A reading with Prof. John Woods

A workshop with Prof. John Woods
Monday, April 18, 2016
11:30 AM - 1:30 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Abdülhak Hamid: An Ottoman Londoner

A presentation by Sevim Kebeli, visiting scholar at the UCLA Department of English
Thursday, May 19, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Talk by Murat Umut Inan
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
3:00 PM - 4:30 PM

Central Asia Workshop: Selective Territorialization in the Russian Far East

A presentation by Mia Bennett
Thursday, June 02, 2016
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Meetings will be held weekly. Students who attend all workshops can receive course credit by enrolling in History M287/Anthropology M287.

For more information, Please contact Marjan Wardaki (mwardaki@ucla.edu)
or Elizabeth Leicester (eleicester@international.ucla.edu)

Click here to view an archive of Central Asia Workshop topics.