Events

The Center hosts public lectures, conferences, film series, and other events throughout the year.

When is Migration a "Crisis"?: Evaluating the EU's Approach to Syrian Refugees
Thursday, September 22, 2016
1:00 PM
West Los Angeles College
General Classroom Building, room 160 (GC-160)

Human Rights in Iran: A Conversation with Mehrangiz Kar
Monday, October 03, 2016
12:15 PM
Room 1447, UCLA School of Law
UCLA

Rumi's Mystical Journey
Friday, October 07, 2016
8:00 PM
Schoenberg Hall
445 Charles E Young Drive North

Ehsan Yarshater in Conversation with Mandana Zandian
Sunday, October 09, 2016
4:00 PM
147 Dodd Hall
UCLA

The Substantive Pull of Procedure in Early Islamic Courts: The Curious Case of Bughaybigha
Monday, October 10, 2016
12:15 PM
Room 1457, UCLA School of Law
UCLA

Fils de Shéol (2015): A discussion of the novels of Anouar Benmalek
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
3:00 PM
6275 Bunche Hall
UCLA

Turkey’s Future: Democracy or Autocracy?
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
7:30 PM
Billy Wilder Theater, Hammer Museum, UCLA
10899 Wilshire Blvd.

Western Bombs, Eastern Societies: The Destruction of Nations and Responsibility to Protect (R2P)
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
12:15 PM
Room 1447, UCLA School of Law
UCLA

The Economic Role of the Jewish Community in Afghanistan (1880-1950)
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
6275 Bunche Hall
UCLA


20th Annual Arab Film Festival
Friday, October 21, 2016 to Sunday, October 23, 2016
TBA
Harmony Gold Theater
7655 W. Sunset Blvd

Obama’s Drone Legacy
Friday, October 21, 2016
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
UCLA School of Law
Room 1347

A film screening of "Recollection" [2015]
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
6:00 PM
6275 Bunche Hall
UCLA


Islam and Muslims in an age of ISIS and Islamophobia
Saturday, October 29, 2016
3:30 PM
Young Hall Court of Sciences 50
UCLA

Performing Pamiri Identity in Central Asia
Monday, October 31, 2016
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA

Foucault in Iran: Political Spirituality and the Perils of Universal History
Tuesday, November 01, 2016
3:00 PM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA


2015: Discourse on the Armenian Condition
Thursday, November 10, 2016
4:00 PM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA


Across Legal Lines: Jews and Muslims in Modern Morocco
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
12:00 PM
306 Royce Hall
UCLA

Information Session: Middle East Studies Graduate Fellowship
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
2:00 PM
10286 Bunche Hall
UCLA

CNES Alumni MESA Reception
Friday, November 18, 2016
8:30 PM
Salon A (4)
Boston Marriott Copley Place