Events

The Center hosts public lectures, conferences, film series, and other events throughout the year.

New Directions in Maghreb Studies
Thursday, March 29, 2018
10:00 AM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA

Roundtable Talk with Ambassador Dina Kawar of Jordan
Tuesday, April 03, 2018
2:30 PM - 3:45 PM
Bunche Hall 10383

The Politics of Conflict: Reflections on the Middle East and Beyond
Wednesday, April 04, 2018
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
UCLA School of Law, Room 1357


Finding Your Own Voice: Iranian Americans in the New Political Era
Thursday, April 05, 2018
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
100 Moore
UCLA

Panel on Environment & Sustainability (In Persian)
Sunday, April 08, 2018
4:00 PM
121 Dodd Hall
UCLA

Pashto Literature in North India in the 16th-18th Centuries
Monday, April 16, 2018
4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
10383 Bunche Hall


Coup, Emergency and Constitutional Referendum: The Rule of Law Under Pressure in Turkey
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
12:15 PM - 1:30 PM
UCLA School of Law, Room 1337

The Damascus' Qubbat al-khazna find: the story of a discovery and its material
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
12:30 PM
Charles E. Young Research Library, Presentation Room 11348

Documentary Film: The Judge [2017]
Friday, April 20, 2018 to Thursday, April 26, 2018
TBA
Laemmle Monica Film Center
1332 2nd Street

Going Global: Exploring Human Rights in the Shadow of Nationalism
Friday, April 20, 2018
8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
UCLA Faculty Center


Preliminary Reflections On Sectarianism and Intermarriage in Lebanon
Thursday, April 26, 2018
12:15 PM
352 Haines Hall
UCLA

Smoking a Scorpion: Contemporary Persian Literature Today
Monday, May 07, 2018
3:00 PM
Humanities 193
UCLA


Creating Beauty To Resist
Thursday, May 17, 2018
2:00 PM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA

Makeup and Circulation of Political Elite in Post-revolutionary Iran
Thursday, May 31, 2018
2:00 PM
10383 Bunche Hall

From Revolution to Devolution? The Future of the State in the Middle East
Friday, June 01, 2018 to Saturday, June 02, 2018
Day 1: UCLA Meyer & Renee Luskin Conference Center
Day 2: UCLA School of Law

Yemen's Destruction: A Globalist Artifice
Monday, June 04, 2018
4:00 PM
10383 Bunche Hall