Events

The Center hosts public lectures, conferences, film series, and other events throughout the year.

Shah Wali Allah's Response to Ijtihad and Sunni Legal Theory
Monday, September 25, 2017
12:15 PM - 1:30 PM
Room 1327, UCLA School of Law
UCLA

False Dawn: Protest, Democracy, and Violence in the New Middle East
Thursday, October 05, 2017
12:15 PM
UCLA School of Law
Room 1430

Sexuality and Cultural Change in Iranian Cinema
Sunday, October 08, 2017
4:00 PM
121 Dodd Hall
UCLA

What Kind of Wine did Rudaki Fancy?
Monday, October 09, 2017
2:00 PM
121 Dodd Hall
UCLA

Dissent in an Age of Populism: Sustaining Political Opposition after Turkey's 2017 Referendum
Monday, October 09, 2017
5:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Room 1314, UCLA School of Law
UCLA

The King and the Forty Orphans: The Invention of an Armenian Homeland in Ethiopia
Thursday, October 12, 2017
6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Room 1420, UCLA School of Law
UCLA

Egypt and the Contradictions of Liberalism: Illiberal Intelligentsia and the Future of Egyptian Democracy
Monday, October 16, 2017
12:15 PM - 1:30 PM
Room 1447, UCLA School of Law


The First Half-Century of Israel's Permanently Temporary Occupation
Tuesday, October 17, 2017
3:30 PM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA

Israel's Judiciary under Threat
Thursday, October 19, 2017
5:30 PM - 6:45 PM
306 Royce Hall

Film Screening: Queens of Syria
Thursday, October 19, 2017
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Northwest Campus Auditorium
UCLA

Disorienting Figures: The Sovereign and the Author in the Ottoman Age of Prose
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
3:30 PM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA

Islam and Jews in the Holy Land: Land and Nature and the Construction of Jewish Culture
Wednesday, October 25, 2017
12:00 PM - 1:15 PM
10383 Bunche Hall

Black Matters: Young Ethiopian Jews and Race in Israel
Thursday, October 26, 2017
3:15 PM
Room 1314, UCLA School of Law

Interculturalism and the integration of Syrian-Armenian refugees to Montreal, Quebec
Thursday, October 26, 2017
6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Room 1420, UCLA School of Law


Muslims, Christians, and Jews in the Ottoman Middle East
Thursday, November 02, 2017
3:00 PM
279 Haines Hall
UCLA

New Trends in Migration: European and North American Perspectives
Friday, November 03, 2017
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA

A Model Minority? Sephardi Jews in the Late Ottoman Empire
Wednesday, November 08, 2017
TBA
Room 1314, UCLA School of Law

The New Middle East: What Everyone Needs to Know
Thursday, November 09, 2017
3:30 PM - 5:00 PM
Room 1314, UCLA School of Law

Labor Migration, Degrees of Privilege, and the Politics of Hope in Turkey
Friday, November 17, 2017
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
10383 Bunche Hall
UCLA

CNES 60th Anniversary Celebration at MESA 2017
Saturday, November 18, 2017
8:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Coolidge Meeting Room
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Computers and Challenges of Writing in Persian
Sunday, November 19, 2017
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Location TBA

Computers and Challenges of Writing in Persian
Monday, November 20, 2017
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Location TBA