Podcasts

The Center’s events reach an audience across the world and into the future through our archive of podcasts.

Use the Google Custom Search above to find a specific speaker, title, or topic. Append +podcast to your search to limit it to podcasts only. For example, to find podcasts about Istanbul, type: Istanbul +podcast.
Thursday, February 02, 2017
Syria and the New Arab Wars
A lecture by Marc Lynch (George Washington University)

Friday, January 27, 2017
Academic Freedom at Risk: Turkey, the Middle East and Beyond
A one day conference

Thursday, January 26, 2017
Extraterritorial Dreams: European Citizenship, Sephardi Jews, and the Ottoman Twentieth Century
A book talk by Sarah Abrevaya Stein (UCLA) with comments by Christine Philliou (UC Berkeley) and Roger Waldinger (UCLA)

Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Ummah as a Muslim Race: A Global Intellectual History of Pan-Islamism
A lecture by Cemil Aydin (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Tuesday, January 17, 2017
The Tragedy of Progress: Rethinking the Genealogies of Feminism in Post-colonial Morocco
A lecture by Nadia Guessous (Colorado College)

Tuesday, November 01, 2016
Foucault in Iran: Political Spirituality and the Perils of Universal History
A lecture by Behrooz Tabrizi (University of Illinois- Urbana Champaign)

Thursday, October 27, 2016
Beyond Continents and Colours: Postcolonial Middle Eastern History as Third Worldist History
A lecture by Jeffrey James Byrne (University of British Columbia)

Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Western Bombs, Eastern Societies: The Destruction of Nations and the Responsibility to Protect (R2P)
A lecture by Vijay Prashad (Trinity College)

Tuesday, May 24, 2016
What Did the Ottomans Read? Books and Readers in the Ottoman Literary World, 1300-1600
A lecture by Murat Umut Inan (Social Sciences University of Ankara)

Thursday, May 05, 2016
Was the Rise of Islam a Black Swan Event?
A lecture by Michael Cook (Princeton University)

Wednesday, May 04, 2016
Men of Capital: Scarcity and Economy in Mandate Palestine
A book talk with Sherene Seikaly (UC Santa Barbara)

Tuesday, May 03, 2016
Arabs and "The Problem of the Color Line": Revisiting the 1919 Peace Conference
A lecture by Elizabeth F. Thompson (University of Virginia)

Monday, April 25, 2016
After the American Century: The Ends of U.S Culture in the Middle East
A book talk with Brian Edwards (Northwestern University)

Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Survivors into Minorities: Armenians in Post-Genocide Turkey
A book talk with Lerna Ekmekcioglu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

1 2 3 4 5 ...77 # Per Page: