Tuesday, April 27, 2021

Download file:JPEGS-GLOBAL-FORUM-nw-ktk.pdf

Event series exploring Japan's past, present, and future.

 The Terasaki Center’s annual Global Japan Forum brings together renowned experts in various fields to analyze and discuss key issues facing Japan today in a global context. It aims to create an interdisciplinary and transnational platform in which to engage Japan from new and innovative perspectives and to connect the world of academic scholarship to the broader community.

This year’s Global Japan Forum, Japan 2011/2021/2031, which commemorates the 10-year memorial of 3/11/2011, will be comprised of separate events addressing three of the main issues affecting Japan today: the Great East Japan Earthquake, the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster, and COVID-19. By exploring these topics, we hope to address Japan’s past, present, and future, and explore how Japan’s unique response to these natural and man-made disasters can both enhance our understanding of Japanese Studies and serve as an example to a world in crisis. 

EVENT 1

Japan and COVID-19
5:00 – 6:30 PM PST  May 18, 2021 | 9:00 – 10:30 AM Japan  May 19, 2021

Register here


EVENT 2

Great East Japan Earthquake: Japan 2011 | 2021 | 2031
 
May 21, 2021  5:00 – 7:30 PM PST | May 22, 2021  9:00 – 11:30 AM Japan Time

Register here


EVENT 3

“Fukushima Speaks” – Film Screening and Discussion
Film Screening: May 27, 2021 4:00 – 7:00 PM PST | May 28, 2021  8:00 – 11:00 AM Japan Time
Discussion: May 28, 2021  5:00 – 6:30 PM PST | May 29, 2021   9:00 – 10:30 AM Japan Time

Register here (Film Screening)
Register here (Discussion)


Download file: JPEGS-GLOBAL-FORUM-nw-ktk.pdf