Calendar

minimize

Events for Latin American Institute

May1

BIXA TRAVESTY

Directed by Brazilian directors Kiko Goifman and Claudia Priscilla
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
7:30 PM
Melnitz Hall 1409

May2

Global Itineraries of Holocaust Memory

Arnold Band Distinguished Lecture in Jewish Studies by Sarah Phillips Casteel, Carleton University
Thursday, May 2, 2019
4:00 PM
314 Royce Hall

May3

Eyewitness Venezuela

A talk featuring Gloria la Riva
Friday, May 3, 2019
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Dodd 167

May13

Book Talk with Abigail L. Andrews

In conversation with Abigail L. Andrews about her new book: Undocumented Politics: Place, Gender, and the Pathways of Mexican Migrants
Monday, May 13, 2019
3:00 PM - 4:30 PM
History Conference Room

May15

Brokering the Sacred

A panel on Native American cultural heritage and the meaning of art
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
6:00 PM
Lenart Auditorium

May16

"Certificates of Freedom"

A talk by Susan Rosenfeld, UCLA
Thursday, May 16, 2019
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6265 Bunche Hall

May17

The Wandering Song

A night of poetry
Friday, May 17, 2019
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Dodd 147

May21

Avant-garde and Primitivism in 1920's Latin America

The Colloquium on Brazil presents a talk by Rodrigo Octávio Cardoso, Unicamp
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
11372 Bunche Hall

May22

Book Talk with Laura Velasco

In conversation with Laura Velasco about her new book: Migración, trabajo y asentamiento en enclaves globales. Indígenas en Baja California Sur
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Haines Hall 144

May26

Fiesta Mexicana

Grupo Folklórico de UCLA will like to cordially invite you to their 12th annual Fiesta Mexicana.
Sunday, May 26, 2019
5:30 PM - 8:30 PM
Royce Hall

May28

Helen Caldwell

A talk by Hélio Guimarães, Universidade de São Paulo
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
10383 Bunche Hall

May29

CORPO ELÉTRICO

Directed by Brazilian director Marcelo Caetano
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
7:30 PM
Melnitz Hall 1409

May30

Cannibal Eros

The Colloquium on Brazil presents a talk by Eliane Robert Moraes, USP
Thursday, May 30, 2019
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Charles E Young Research Library

May31

Ecos del Gran Viejo

A bilingual reading of works by Latin American writers influenced by Whitman
Friday, May 31, 2019
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
UCLA Powell Library Rotunda