UCLA International Institute

 

 

 

Nationalism & Ethnicity

Agenda

Working group on ethnicity and nationalism

Rogers Brubaker and David Laitin, conveners

Preliminary Agenda for first meeting, Jan. 12-13, 2001

Out-of-town guests arrive Friday afternoon; reservations have been made at Tiverton House (confirmation numbers and coordinates of Tiverton House have been sent to those staying there).

Friday, Jan. 12

6pm: dinner in Westwood, restaurant TBA (will be within walking distance of Tiverton House)

Saturday, Jan. 13: Hershey Hall 1648.

Hershey Hall is a 10 minute walk from Tiverton House. Tiverton House is No. 115 (section F), Hershey Hall is No. 58 (section E) on the UCLA campus map that is available on line at http://www.ucla.edu/map/

8:30 am: breakfast

9am: Welcome and introductions

9:15-11:45 Morning session

Discussion paper (to be circulated by e-mail): Rogers Brubaker, "Beyond 'Groupism'"

Background readings:

Max Weber, Economy and Society, pp. 40-43, 341-348, 385-398, 922-926

Frederick Barth, Introduction to Ethnic Groups and Boundaries

Charles Tilly, From Mobilization to Revolution, pp. 59-79

Richard Jenkins, "Rethinking ethnicity: identity, categorization and power"

Initial presentations (10-15 minutes each): Mara Loveman, David Laitin

11:45-2:00 Lunch

2-4:30 Afternoon session

Discussion paper (to be circulated by e-mail): James Fearon and David Laitin, "The ordinary language approach to specifying what is an ethnic group"

Background readings (to be mailed out):

Michael Hechter, Principles of Group Solidarity, pp. 8-12, 15-19, 30-58

Karl Deutsch, Nationalism and Social Communication, pp. 15-44, 60-101, 130-6

Donald Horowitz, Ethnic Groups in Conflict, pp. 3-12, 41-83

Initial presentations (10-15 minutes each): Richard McElreath, Roger Waldinger

4:30-4:45 Arrangements for second meeting

Roster of participants (2000-2001)

Conveners:

Rogers Brubake
brubaker@soc.ucla.edu

David Laitin
dlaitin@stanford.edu

Faculty participants:

Jim Fearon
jfearon@stanford.edu

Lawrence Hirschfeld
lhirsch@umich.edu

Dan Posner
dposner@polisci.ucla.edu

Roger Waldinger
waldinge@soc.ucla.edu

Student participants:

Richard McElreath
rlm@ucla.edu

Maya Beasley
mbeasley@stanford.edu

Mara Loveman
mloveman@ucla.edu

Peter Stamatov
stamatov@ucla.edu

Jon Fox
jonfox@ucla.edu

Ebru Erdem
eerdem@stanford.edu

Guest participants:

Emanuel Schegloff (Feb. 2-3)
schegloff@soc.ucla.edu

John Meyer (Feb. 2-3)
meyer@stanford.edu

Mark Granovetter (April 6-7)
mgranovetter@stanford.edu

Roy D'Andrade (April 6-7)
rdandrade@ucsd.edu

Administrative support (accommodation arrangements, reimbursements, etc.)

Becky Carrera
bcarrera@international.ucla.edu

Florencia Quintanar
fquintan@international.ucla.edu

 

Graphics of Occupational Change, Openness, and Industrial Relations Measures

Investment Climate and Firm Performance in Developing Economies

Politics, Public Policy, and Inequality: A Look Back at the Twentieth Century

Center for Comparative and Global Research

11343 Bunche Hall
Box 951487
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1487
Tel: (310) 825-4921
Fax: (310) 206-3555
ccgr@international.ucla.edu
www.international.ucla.edu/ccgr

top page

© 2002. The Regents of the University of California