Events

The Center hosts public lectures, conferences, film series, and other events throughout the year.




Image for Feeding the Gods in Ancient Israel
Feeding the Gods in Ancient Israel
Thursday, April 11, 2019
2:00 PM
UCLA Faculty Center




Image for Between Bible and Qur
Between Bible and Qur'an
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
2:00 PM
314 Royce Hall




Image for Brothers Apart: Palestinian Citizens of Israel and the Arab World
Brothers Apart: Palestinian Citizens of Israel and the Arab World
Monday, April 22, 2019
2:00 PM
10-383 Bunche Hall


Image for The Last Watchman of Old Cairo
The Last Watchman of Old Cairo
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
12:00 PM
314 Royce Hall


Image for Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait
Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait
Monday, May 6, 2019
TBA
Location TBD

Image for Book Talk with Solmaz Sharif
Book Talk with Solmaz Sharif
Monday, May 13, 2019
4:00 PM
193 Kaplan Hall

Image for Mahia on the Market: On the History of a Moroccan Jewish Commodity
Mahia on the Market: On the History of a Moroccan Jewish Commodity
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
5:00 PM
193 Kaplan Hall

Image for Multilingualism in Early Islamic Egypt: The View from Papyri
Multilingualism in Early Islamic Egypt: The View from Papyri
Thursday, May 16, 2019
12:00 PM
365 Kaplan Hall


Image for Europe seen from North Africa
Europe seen from North Africa
Monday, May 20, 2019
TBA
10383 Bunche Hall

Image for An Introduction to Islamic Manuscript Culture
An Introduction to Islamic Manuscript Culture
Monday, May 20, 2019 to Wednesday, May 22, 2019
TBA
UCLA

Image for The Persianate World: The Frontiers of a Eurasian Lingua Franca
The Persianate World: The Frontiers of a Eurasian Lingua Franca
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Royce 314
UCLA

Image for For the Love of Humanity: The World Tribunal on Iraq
For the Love of Humanity: The World Tribunal on Iraq
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
10383 Bunche Hall

Image for Perspectives on French Colonial and Late Ottoman Cultural History
Perspectives on French Colonial and Late Ottoman Cultural History
Thursday, May 30, 2019 to Friday, May 31, 2019
TBA
193 Kaplan Hall