Podcasts

The Center’s events reach an audience across the world and into the future through our archive of podcasts.

Use the Google Custom Search above to find a specific speaker, title, or topic. Append +podcast to your search to limit it to podcasts only. For example, to find podcasts about Istanbul, type: Istanbul +podcast.
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Creating Beauty To Resist
A book talk and discussion with authors Ece Temelkuran and Molly Crabapple

Monday, May 14, 2018
The Iranian Metaphysicals: Spiritual Empiricism and the Gender of Reason
A lecture by Alireza Doostdar (The University of Chicago Divinity School)

Friday, March 23, 2018
Sultan Abdülhamid II: Founding Father of the Turkish State?
A lecture by Edhem Eldem (Collège de France)

Thursday, February 22, 2018
Smart People, Dumb War: America's Intervention in Iraq
A lecture by Jason Brownlee (University of Texas at Austin)

Monday, February 12, 2018
Roots of Iranian Rage: Protest and Power in the Islamic Republic
A book talk by Kevan Harris (UCLA) and Afshin Matin-Asgari (California State University, Los Angeles)

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Oil Concession Law, Decolonization, and the Historiography of the Middle East
A lecture by Chris Dietrich (Fordham University)

Monday, January 22, 2018
Between the Ottoman Empire and Italy: The Jews of Rhodes 1880-1936
A lecture by Aron Rodrigue (Stanford University)

Wednesday, January 17, 2018
“Vahdat-e Islami” (“Islamic Unity”) Conventions in Sarhadd, Iranian Baluchestan: A Tool for Stability and Power Control
A lecture by Vahe S. Boyajian (National Academy of Sciences, Armenia)

Thursday, November 09, 2017
The New Middle East: What Everyone Needs to Know
A book talk by James L. Gelvin (UCLA), with discussant Kevan Harris (UCLA)

Wednesday, November 08, 2017
A Model Minority? Sephardi Jews in the Late Ottoman Empire
A lecture by Julia Phillips Cohen (Vanderbilt University)

Thursday, November 02, 2017
Muslims, Christians, and Jews in the Ottoman Middle East
A lecture by Heather J. Sharkey (University of Pennsylvania) Thursday, November 02, 2017

Monday, October 30, 2017
The Politics of Secularism: Religion, Diversity, and Institutional Change in France and Turkey
A book talk by Murat Akan (Boğaziçi University)

Monday, October 16, 2017
Egypt and the Contradictions of Liberalism: Illiberal Intelligentsia and the Future of Egyptian Democracy
A book talk with Dalia Fahmy (Long Island University), and Daanish Faruqi (Doctoral Candidate, Duke University)

Thursday, October 05, 2017
False Dawn: Protest, Democracy, and Violence in the New Middle East
Steven A. Cook discusses his new book on the Arab Spring uprisings and their aftermath

Monday, September 25, 2017
Shah Wali Allah's Response to Ijtihad and Sunni Legal Theory
A discussion with Mubasher Hussain, International Islamic University Islamabad (Pakistan)

416 Records Found
1 2 3 4 5 ...28
Per Page