Skip Navigation

Alan T. Waterman Award

National Science Foundation (NSF)


Congress established the Alan T. Waterman Award in August 1975 to mark the 25th anniversary of the National Science Foundation and to honor its first Director. The annual award recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by the National Science Foundation.


The 2002 Award consists of citation, a bronze medal, and a nonrestrictive grant of $500,000 over a 3-year period for scientific research or advanced study in the biological, mathematical, medical, engineering, physical, social or other sciences at the institution of the recipient's choice.


Candidates must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents and must be 35 years of age or younger or not more than 7 years beyond receipt of the Ph.D. degree by December 31 of the year in which they are nominated. Candidates should have completed sufficient scientific or engineering research to have demonstrated, through personal accomplishments, outstanding capability and exceptional promise for significant future achievement. In addition, candidates should exhibit originality, innovation, and significant impact on the field.


Deadline for Nominations: November 30, 2004
Deadline for Reference Letters: December 31, 2004

Application and for more information

For detailed information concerning the nomination procedures go to or contact Ms. Susan E. Fannoney via 703-292-8096 (phone), or (e-mail).


Mrs. Susan E. Fannoney, Executive Secretary
Alan T. Waterman Award Committee National Science Foundation
4201 Wilson Blvd., Room 1225
Arlington, VA 22230
Phone: (703) 292-8096
Fax: (703) 292-9008

To print this page, select "Print" from the File menu of your browser.