Affiliated Faculty


Tendayi  Achiume

Tendayi Achiume
Assistant Professor of Law
UCLA Law
achiume@law.ucla.edu

Edward  Alpers

Edward Alpers
Professor Emeritus
Department of History
alpers@history.ucla.edu

Hannah  Appel

Hannah Appel
Professor
Anthropology
happel@anthro.ucla.edu

Andrew  Apter

Andrew Apter
Interim Director, African Studies Center; Professor
Department of History
aapter@history.ucla.edu

Ruby  Bell-Gam

Ruby Bell-Gam
African Studies Bibliographer
UCLA Charles E. Young Research Library
rbellgam@library.ucla.edu

Marla  Berns

Marla Berns
Director, Fowler Museum; Adjunct Professor
Art History
berns@arts.ucla.edu

Stephanie  Bosch Santana

Stephanie Bosch Santana
Assistant Professor
Comparative Literature
sbsantana@humnet.ucla.edu

Stephen  Commins

Stephen Commins
Lecturer
Urban Planning
scommins@ucla.edu

Robin  Derby

Robin Derby
Associate Professor
Department of History
derby@history.ucla.edu

Christopher  Ehret

Christopher Ehret
Professor Emeritus
Department of History
ehret@history.ucla.edu

Mekonnen  Gebremichael

Mekonnen Gebremichael
Associate Professor
Civil & Environmental Engineering
mekonnen@seas.ucla.edu

Mikki  Goral

Mikki Goral
Librarian
African Studies
miki@library.ucla.edu

Yogita  Goyal

Yogita Goyal
Associate Professor
English
ygoyal@humnet.ucla.edu

Gerry  Hale

Gerry Hale
Professor Emeritus
Geography
hale@geog.ucla.edu

Sondra  Hale

Sondra Hale
Professor Emerita
Anthropology
sonhale@ucla.edu

Cheryl   Harris

Cheryl Harris
Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Professor of Civil Liberties and Civil Rights
UCLA Law
harris@law.ucla.edu

Kevan  Harris

Kevan Harris
Assistant Professor
Sociology
kevanharris@soc.ucla.edu

Robert  Hill

Robert Hill
Director, Marcus Garvey Papers Project; Professor Emeritus
Department of History
rhill@history.ucla.edu

Thomas  Hinnebusch

Thomas Hinnebusch
Professor Emeritus
Linguistics
hinnebus@humnet.ucla.edu

Edmond  Keller

Edmond Keller
Professor Emeritus
Political Science
ekeller@ucla.edu

Cheryl  Keyes

Cheryl Keyes
Professor
Ethnomusicology
clkeyes@ucla.edu

Françoise  Lionnet

Françoise Lionnet
Professor
Comparative Literature, French and Francophone Studies, Department of Gender Studies
flionnet@humnet.ucla.edu

Michael  Lofchie

Michael Lofchie
Professor
Political Science, International Development Studies
mlofchie@polisci.ucla.edu

Ghislaine  Lydon

Ghislaine Lydon
Professor
Department of History
lydon@history.ucla.edu

Alain  Mabanckou

Alain Mabanckou
Professor
French and Francophone Studies
mabanckou@humnet.ucla.edu

Edith  Mukudi Omwami

Edith Mukudi Omwami
Associate Professor
Graduate School of Education and Information Studies
omwami@gseis.ucla.edu

Steven   Nelson

Steven Nelson
Professor
Art History, Department of African American Studies
nelsons@humnet.ucla.edu

Alfred K.  Neumann

Alfred K. Neumann
Professor Emeritus
School of Public Health
aneumann@ucla.edu

Charlotte  Neumann

Charlotte Neumann
Professor
School of Public Health
cneumann@mednet.ucla.edu

Jemima  Pierre

Jemima Pierre
Associate Professor
Anthropology
pierrej@ucla.edu

Merrick  Posnansky

Merrick Posnansky
Professor Emeritus
Department of History, Anthropology
merrick@history.ucla.edu

Daniel  Posner

Daniel Posner
James S. Coleman Professor
Political Science
dposner@polisci.ucla.edu

Anne  W. Rimoin, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Anne W. Rimoin, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Director, UCLA Center for Global and Immigrant Health; Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology
School of Public Health, Epidemiology
arimoin@ucla.edu

Allen  Roberts

Allen Roberts
Professor
World Arts & Cultures/Dance
aroberts@arts.ucla.edu

Kathleen  Sheldon

Kathleen Sheldon
CSW Research Affiliate
Gender Studies
ksheldon@ucla.edu

Debora  Silverman

Debora Silverman
Professor
Department of History, Art History
silverma@history.ucla.edu

Richard  Sklar

Richard Sklar
Professor Emeritus
Political Science
sklar@polisci.ucla.edu

Thomas  Smith

Thomas Smith
Director, Center for Tropical Research; Professor
Institute of the Environment and Sustainability
tbsmith@ucla.edu

Paula  Tavrow

Paula Tavrow
Director, Bixby Program in Population and Reproductive Health; Associate Adjunct Professor
School of Public Health
ptavrow@ucla.edu

Dominic  Thomas

Dominic Thomas
Professor
French and Francophone Studies
dominict@humnet.ucla.edu

Miguel  Unzueta

Miguel Unzueta
Associate Professor
UCLA Anderson School of Management
miguel.unzueta@anderson.ucla.edu

Blaire  Van Valkenburgh

Blaire Van Valkenburgh
Professor
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
bvanval@ucla.edu

Paul  Von Blum

Paul Von Blum
Lecturer
Communication Studies, Afro-American Studies Interdepartmental Program
pvonblum@ucla.edu

Christopher  Waterman

Christopher Waterman
Professor
World Arts & Cultures/Dance
cwater@arts.ucla.edu

Susan Cotts   Watkins

Susan Cotts Watkins
Visiting Research Scientist
California Center for Population Research
SWatkins@ccpr.ucla.edu

Thomas  Weisner

Thomas Weisner
Professor
Anthropology
tweisner@ucla.edu

William  Worger

William Worger
Professor
Department of History
worger@history.ucla.edu