The Institutions and Forms of Indigenous Business Activity in State Law

Indigenous Commerce, Culture, and Law in the Asia-Pacific

This Forum seeks to investigate the complexities of undertaking business and economic development for Indigenous Peoples. These economic self-determinative activities are an increasingly important aspect of Indigenous governance, as the sustainable creation of wealth and jobs for indigenous communities and youth is one of the challenges that indigenous peoples struggle to protect their culture. 

The Institutions and Forms of Indigenous Business Activity in State Law: Over-Regulations, stereotypes and the incompatibility of state business law

May 30, 2023 at 8PM Pacific Time
May 31, 2023 at 11AM Taipei  |  12PM Tokyo  |  1PM Sydney

 There are numerous varied examples of business forms that have been used by Indigenous groups across the world. 

Panelists:

  • Joy C. Capistrano, President, Agusan Del Sur State College of Agriculture and Technology
  • Cristina Lim, Associate Professor, Dean, Partido State University
  • Akshaya Kamalnath, Senior Lecturer, National University of Australia

Register Here

 

The online forum builds on the 2022 Webinar Series "Natural Resource Policy, Culture and Law: Land and Water Governance and Minority Peoples in the Asia-Pacific" and the 2020 Series Series: "Indigenous Peoples, Heritage and Landscape in the Asia Pacific"undertaken by the Science and Technology Innovation Center for Taiwan-Philippines Indigenous Knowledge, Local Knowledge and Sustainable Studies (CTPILS), National Chengchi University, UCLA Department of Anthropology, UCLA Center for Southeast Asian Studies, UCLA Asia Pacific Center, University of New England (Australia) First Peoples First Peoples Rights and Law Center and UNE Agricultural Law Centre, Great Lakes Indian Law Centre at the University of Wisconsin - Madison Law School, Auckland University of Technology Centre for Indigenous Rights and Law, the University of Toyama and Northwestern University Buffet Institute for Global Affairs. 

30 May 23
8:00 PM -

Save the Date

Sharing Tools