International Indigenous Trade: Challenges, Opportunities and Self-Determination

Indigenous Commerce, Culture, and Law in the Asia Pacific Series

Tuesday, June 6, 2023
8:00 PM (Pacific Time)
Zoom
Registration Required

Indigenous Commerce, Culture, and Law in the Asia-Pacific

This Forum seeks to investigate the complexities of undertaking business and economic development for Indigenous Peoples. These economic self-determinative activities are an increasingly important aspect of Indigenous governance, as the sustainable creation of wealth and jobs for indigenous communities and youth is one of the challenges that indigenous peoples struggle to protect their culture. 

International Indigenous Trade: Challenges, Opportunities and Self-Determination

June 6, 2023 at 8PM Pacific Time
June 7, 2023 at 11AM Taipei  |  12PM Tokyo  |  1PM Sydney

This session discusses the opportunities and meaning international trade may provide indigenous groups. Over the past several years, different states have inserted indigenous trade clauses in international trade agreements negotiated with other states. 

Panelists:

  • Tina Wilson, NZ Director of Trade - Taiwan, New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
  • Jane Kelsey, Professor at University of Auckland
  • Carrie Stoddart-Smith, Opinio Native Aotearoa
  • Reynaldo Morales, Northwestern University

Register Here

 

The online forum builds on the 2022 Webinar Series "Natural Resource Policy, Culture and Law: Land and Water Governance and Minority Peoples in the Asia-Pacific" and the 2020 Series Series: "Indigenous Peoples, Heritage and Landscape in the Asia Pacific"undertaken by the Science and Technology Innovation Center for Taiwan-Philippines Indigenous Knowledge, Local Knowledge and Sustainable Studies (CTPILS), National Chengchi University, UCLA Department of Anthropology, UCLA Center for Southeast Asian Studies, UCLA Asia Pacific Center, University of New England (Australia) First Peoples First Peoples Rights and Law Center and UNE Agricultural Law Centre, Great Lakes Indian Law Centre at the University of Wisconsin - Madison Law School, Auckland University of Technology Centre for Indigenous Rights and Law, the University of Toyama and Northwestern University Buffet Institute for Global Affairs. 



Image for RSVP ButtonImage for Calendar ButtonImage for Calendar Button

Sponsor(s): Center for Southeast Asian Studies