Events

The Center hosts public lectures, conferences, film series, and other events throughout the year.

Image for The President
The President's Body: Conspiracy-Mindedness in Cyprus and Beyond
Thursday, January 16, 2020
12:15 PM - 1:45 PM
352 Haines Hall


Image for Cultural Destruction, Technology, and the Future of Human Rights Practice
Cultural Destruction, Technology, and the Future of Human Rights Practice
Friday, January 17, 2020
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM
111 GSE&IS Building


Image for The Arabicization of Christian Egypt: Reframing the Debate
The Arabicization of Christian Egypt: Reframing the Debate
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
12:00 PM
Kaplan Hall 365

Image for Law and Communal Identity in the Early Medieval World
Law and Communal Identity in the Early Medieval World
Thursday, January 23, 2020 to Saturday, January 25, 2020
TBA
Royce Hall 314

Image for قضیه شکل اول، شکل دوم - Case No. 1, Case No. 2
قضیه شکل اول، شکل دوم - Case No. 1, Case No. 2
Sunday, January 26, 2020
4:00 PM
Dodd Hall 121


Image for Friends of the Emir: Discussing a New Faculty Publication
Friends of the Emir: Discussing a New Faculty Publication
Thursday, January 30, 2020
3:00 PM
Presentation Room, Charles E. Young Research Library

Image for 18th Annual Graduate Student Colloquium in Armenian Studies
18th Annual Graduate Student Colloquium in Armenian Studies
Friday, February 7, 2020
9:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Royce Hall 314


Image for Iran Reframed: Anxieties of Power in the Islamic Republic
Iran Reframed: Anxieties of Power in the Islamic Republic
Monday, February 10, 2020
2:00 PM
Bunche Hall 10383

Image for Minorities in Iran: Legal, Sociological and Historiographical Approaches
Minorities in Iran: Legal, Sociological and Historiographical Approaches
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
4:30 PM
Bunche Hall 10383


Image for Age of Coexistence: The Arab World Before Sectarianism
Age of Coexistence: The Arab World Before Sectarianism
Thursday, February 20, 2020
12:00 PM
Bunche Hall 10383

Image for Forensic Architecture: Socialising Evidence
Forensic Architecture: Socialising Evidence
Friday, February 21, 2020
5:00 PM
UCLA James Bridges Theater (1409 Melnitz Hall)

Image for Evidence and Human Rights in a Post Truth World: Eyal Weizman and the Forensic Architecture Project
Evidence and Human Rights in a Post Truth World: Eyal Weizman and the Forensic Architecture Project
Saturday, February 22, 2020
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
DeCafe, Perloff Hall


Image for Family Papers: A Sephardic Journey through the Twentieth Century
Family Papers: A Sephardic Journey through the Twentieth Century
Thursday, February 27, 2020
12:00 PM
Location TBD

Image for Stone Men: The Palestinians Who Built Israel
Stone Men: The Palestinians Who Built Israel
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
4:30 PM
Bunche Hall 10383


Image for Waste Siege: The Life of Infrastructure in Palestine
Waste Siege: The Life of Infrastructure in Palestine
Thursday, March 12, 2020
12:15 PM
Haines Hall 352