Events

The Center hosts public lectures, conferences, film series, and other events throughout the year.


Image for Authoritarianism, State and Society in Modern Turkey
Authoritarianism, State and Society in Modern Turkey
Wednesday, April 7, 2021
9:30 AM (Pacific Time)

Image for Sect, Difference, and Interreligious Marriage in Lebanon
Sect, Difference, and Interreligious Marriage in Lebanon
Wednesday, April 7, 2021
1:00 PM (Pacific Time)

Image for Ottoman Legacies, Émigre Culture, and Linguistic Crossroads
Ottoman Legacies, Émigre Culture, and Linguistic Crossroads
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 to Thursday, April 8, 2021
3:00 PM (Pacific Time)

Image for Public Intellectual: The Life of a Citizen Pilgrim
Public Intellectual: The Life of a Citizen Pilgrim
Tuesday, April 13, 2021
12:00 PM (Pacific Time)



Image for Africa
Africa's Readiness for Climate Change (ARCC) Forum 2021
Monday, April 19, 2021 to Friday, April 23, 2021
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Pacific Time)
Zoom webinar


Image for Caring for the Poor: Islamic Benevolence and the End of Neoliberalism
Caring for the Poor: Islamic Benevolence and the End of Neoliberalism
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
1:00 PM (Pacific Time)

Image for The Unspoken as Heritage: The Armenian Genocide and Its Unaccounted Lives
The Unspoken as Heritage: The Armenian Genocide and Its Unaccounted Lives
Thursday, April 22, 2021
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM (Pacific Time)

Image for Reimagining U.S. Strategy in the Middle East
Reimagining U.S. Strategy in the Middle East
Tuesday, April 27, 2021
1:00 PM (Pacific Time)
Webinar



Image for Slavery
Slavery's Archive in the Premodern World
Friday, May 7, 2021
9:00 AM (Pacific Time)

Image for Internment and Destruction: Concentration Camps During the Armenian Genocide
Internment and Destruction: Concentration Camps During the Armenian Genocide
Friday, May 7, 2021
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM (Pacific Time)

Image for Minoritization: Pedagogy and Methods
Minoritization: Pedagogy and Methods
Friday, May 7, 2021
2:00 PM (Pacific Time)

Image for After Sudan: Hajj Hamad and the Search for the Horn of Africa
After Sudan: Hajj Hamad and the Search for the Horn of Africa
Friday, May 14, 2021
2:00 PM (Pacific Time)


Image for A Conversation with Artist Dor Guez
A Conversation with Artist Dor Guez
Thursday, May 20, 2021
11:00 AM - 12:15 PM (Pacific Time)


Image for Thirteenth Heritage Language Virtual Research Institute
Thirteenth Heritage Language Virtual Research Institute
Monday, June 7, 2021 to Thursday, June 10, 2021
(Pacific Time)
Location: University of North Carolina

Image for Malacca and Ottoman Empire, 1400-1800
Malacca and Ottoman Empire, 1400-1800
Thursday, June 17, 2021 to Friday, June 18, 2021
TBA (Pacific Time)
Zoom
Registration Required